© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2016] NSWCA 218
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2016-03-15
Bathurst CJ, Macfarlan JA, Gleeson JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Background
A3.2 In addition to the retirement pension referred to in Rule A3.1, there shall be payable to or in respect of the Member a lump sum equal to the balance in the Member's Accumulation Accounts. A4. LATE RETIREMENT BENEFITS A4.1 If a Member ceases employment with an Employer after his or her Entitlement Age: (a) at or before age 65, there shall be payable out of the Fund an annual pension equivalent to the greater of: (i) pension which would have been paid under Rule A2.1 had the Member retired at his or her Entitlement Age but based on Annual Salary at the date of ceasing employment multiplied by the following adjustment factors based on age at the date of ceasing employment (with a pro rata adjustment factor applying if the Member does not cease employment on a birthday: Age at Retirement Adjustment Factor 62 1.00 63 1.03 64 1.06 65 1.09
and (ii) the pension which would have been paid under Rule A2.1 had the Member retired at his or her Entitlement Age adjusted on such basis as the Trustees having regard to the advice of the Actuary determine to be appropriate; and (b) after age 65, there shall be payable out of the Fund an annual pension equivalent to the greater of: (i) the pension which would have been paid under Rule A4.1(a) if the Member had retired at age 65 adjusted as the Trustees having regard to the advice of the Actuary determine to be appropriate; and (ii) the pension which would have been paid under Rule A2.1 had the Member retired at his or her Entitlement Age adjusted on such basis as the Trustees having regard to the advice of the Actuary determine to be appropriate. A4.2 In addition to the retirement pension referred to in Rule A4.1, there shall be payable to or in respect of the Member a lump sum equal to the balance in the Member's Accumulation Accounts."
The relevant legislation
The primary judgment
The appeal
Did cl A11.3 of the Old Colonial Fund rules confer an accrued benefit on Mr Beck within the meaning of cl 33 of those rules (Notice of Appeal Ground 1)
(i) The appellants
(ii) Mr Beck
Consideration
Did cl 33.3 of the Old Colonial Fund rules authorise the removal of cl A11.3 (Notice of Appeal Ground 2)
Submissions
Consideration
Was the removal of cl A11.3 in breach of the trustee's duty at general law and under s 52(2)(c) of the SIS Act (Notice of Appeal Ground 3)
Submissions
Consideration
Did the removal of cl A11.3 contravene reg 13.16 of the SIS Regulations (Notice of Appeal Grounds 4 and 5)
Submissions
Consideration
If the deletion of cl A11.3 was found to have been an invalid amendment, was Div CH of the OSF rules deemed to include a provision to the effect of cl A11.3 (Notice of Appeal Ground 6)
Submissions
Consideration
(i) The appellants' submissions
(ii) Mr Beck's submissions
Consideration
Parties' Submissions
Consideration
Conclusion
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 22 August 2016
Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Ltd & Anor
Beck & Anor
204; 282 ALR 167 Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd v Evans [1990] 1 WLR 1587 Saleh v Romanous [2010] NSWCA 274; 79 NSWLR 453 Schmidt v Air Products of Canada Ltd (1994) 115 DLR (4th) 631 Wilson v Metro Goldwyn Mayer (1980) 18 NSWLR 730 Category: Principal judgment Parties: Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Limited atf Commonwealth Bank Officers' Superannuation Fund (First Appellant) Representation: Counsel: B Walker SC / S Nixon / J Hutton (Appellants) J C Kelly SC / J Merkel / C Gregory (First Respondent) L Whiffen (Second Respondent)
Solicitors: Jones Day (Appellants) Slater and Gordon (First Respondent) Shine Lawyers (Second Respondent) File Number(s): 2015/314271 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2015] NSWSC 723 Date of Decision: 6 July 2015 Before: Slattery J File Number(s): 2011/220432
[This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] Mr Peter Beck was an actuary employed by Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Society Limited (Colonial Mutual). In 1987, Mr Beck relocated from South Africa to the Colonial Mutual offices in Melbourne. In 2000, Colonial Mutual was acquired by Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA), at which time Mr Beck moved to Sydney to commence employment with CBA. In 2005, Mr Beck's employment was terminated without cause. At the time of termination, he had not yet reached the age of 55. While Mr Beck was employed with Colonial Mutual, he contributed to that company's superannuation fund, which was a defined benefit fund. When Mr Beck joined Colonial Mutual's Australian fund (the Old Colonial Fund) in 1987, cl 22(b) provided for a discretionary benefit in exceptional circumstances to persons who had retired prior to the age of 55. In July 1996, the rules of the Old Colonial Fund were restated and amended. They provided for an early (55-61 years old), normal (62 years old) and late (63+ years old) retirement benefit. Anyone who ceased employment before the age of 55 was dealt with under cl A11. Clause A11.3 stated: "In exceptional circumstances and usually only if the Member has had a long period of Service, the Trustees may with the approval of the Company pay to or in respect of the Member … a further sum of such amount as will increase the total payment to or in respect of such Member to an amount not exceeding the reserve value as determined by the Trustees after considering the advice of the Actuary held in the fund in respect of such Member as at the date the Member ceases employment with the Employer". The rules included an amendment provision (cl 33). Clause 33.1 enabled the trustees, with the consent of the company, to amend the deed. Clause 33.2 contained a proviso that no amendment could be made where the amendment detrimentally affected the value of the benefits accrued in respect of any member without the consent of that member. The value of benefits accrued was to be determined by the trustee after considering the advice of the actuary. Clause 33.3 stated that any amendment which the trustee considered necessary or desirable for ensuring conformity to any laws "governing or regulating the operation or maintenance of superannuation funds" was deemed not to detrimentally affect the value of any benefits accrued. In December 1996, the deed was amended to delete cl A11.3. This amendment was made on the advice of the trustee's in-house counsel that the provision would breach the incoming Victorian anti-discrimination legislation. In 1998, the assets held by the trustee of the Old Colonial Fund were transferred into a new fund (the New Colonial Fund) and in 2003, the New Colonial Fund was merged with the Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Fund (OSF), of which the first appellant (CBOSC) was trustee. The rules of these funds contained similar provisions to the Old Colonial Fund and did not have an equivalent provision to the repealed cl A11.3. Mr Beck gave evidence that he accepted his offer of employment with CBA on the basis that they could protect and enhance the pension he was entitled to under his defined benefit pension scheme. An officer of CBA made representations that Mr Beck's existing superannuation arrangements would continue to apply. It was also alleged that in 2001, officers of CBA put pressure on Mr Beck and his wife to move the family to Sydney to show commitment to the job. The primary judge found that the amendment deleting clause A11.3 was invalid. Consequently, he declared that the OSF at all times included a provision to the effect of A11.3 and that CBOSC must give due consideration to Mr Beck's application for a benefit under that rule. Furthermore, he declared that CBA was estopped from denying that Mr Beck was entitled to an accrued pension at the age of 55 and that CBA was obliged to provide him with this pension to the extent he did not receive a benefit as a consequence of his claim. CBOSC appealed. The issues on appeal were: 1 Whether cl A11.3 of the Old Colonial Fund rules conferred an accrued benefit on Mr Beck within the meaning of cl 33.2 such that his consent was required for the amendment to be made; 2 Whether cl 33.3 otherwise authorised the removal of cl A11.3; 3 Whether the removal of cl A11.3 was in breach of the trustee's duty at general law, or under s 52(2)(c) of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) (the SIS Act), to act in the best interests of beneficiaries; 4 Whether cl A11.3 conferred an accrued benefit on Mr Beck within the meaning of reg 13.16 of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth) (the SIS Regulations) such that the removal of cl A11.3 was in breach of that regulation. 5 Whether, if the deletion of cl A11.3 was invalid, the OSF rules were deemed to include a provision to the effect of cl A11.3; 6 Whether Mr Beck was entitled to argue that CBA was estopped from interfering with his continuing to work until the age of 55. 7 What was the appropriate costs order against Mr Beck? The Court held (Bathurst CJ, Macfarlan JA and Gleeson JA agreeing) dismissing the appeal: Did cl A11.3 confer an accrued benefit within the meaning of cl 33.2? (i) Where a trustee has a duty to distribute to those members who fall within a stipulated definition and a duty not to distribute to those who do not, the power is not discretionary. However, where the trustee has to determine not only whether the member falls within the qualifying definition but also, even where that definition is met, whether a benefit should be conferred and in what amount, the power is discretionary: [93], [96] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [2010] HCA 36; 242 CLR 254 distinguished (ii) A person who is entitled to consideration under a discretionary benefit provision has no proprietary interest in the assets out of which the benefit is to be paid, but only a mere expectancy or hope that the power will be exercised in his or her favour: [94]-[95] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Kennon v Spry [2008] HCA 56; 238 CLR 366 applied (iii) Where a member has not yet achieved the qualifying characteristic stipulated in the discretionary benefit provision (e.g. retirement at a certain age), the benefit, being either the right to be considered or the pension entitlements, has not accrued. It is, at best, an inchoate right in the process of accrual but subject to a variety of contingencies: [97]-[98], [102] (Bathurst CJ); [194]-[195] (Macfarlan JA); [196] (Gleeson JA). Macoun v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2015] HCA 44; 90 ALJR 93; Federal Commissioner of Taxation v James Flood Pty Ltd [1953] HCA 65; 88 CLR 492 applied (iv) The fact that a beneficiary has a right to due administration of the fund does not mean that any potential benefit is an accrued benefit: [103] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). (v) The obtaining of an actuary's report was not a precondition to exercise of the power under cl 33.1. The requirement that an actuary's report be obtained only arose once it was ascertained that the value of accrued benefits was detrimentally affected: [111] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Did cl 33.3 authorise the removal of cl A11.3? (vi) (Obiter) Where an amendment is authorised on the basis that it is considered necessary or desirable for ensuring conformity with certain laws, it must be demonstrated that the amendment is necessary because the particular provision the subject of the amendment, either in its form or in the manner in which it is required to operate, contravenes the legislation in question: [123]-[125] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). (vii) (Obiter) Legislation "governing or regulating" the operation of superannuation funds refers to legislation that is either directed to or specifically impacts on the operation or maintenance of the fund: [124] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Trustee's duty to act in the best interests of beneficiaries (viii) Section 52(2)(c) of the SIS Act does not expand the general law duty of a trustee to act in the best interests of beneficiaries: [136] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Manglicmot v Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Ltd [2011] NSWCA 204; 282 ALR 167 applied (ix) The decision of a superannuation trustee is reviewable for want of properly informed consideration: [137] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [2010] HCA 36; 242 CLR 254; Alcoa of Australia Retirement Plan Pty Ltd v Frost [2012] VSCA 238; 36 VR 618 applied (x) Where the trustee acted on advice that removal of the clause was necessary for compliance with legislation and where the amendment involved a possible right for a future discretionary benefit being replaced with an alternative basis for providing such a benefit, it could not be said that the trustee failed to give proper consideration to whether or not the amendment was in the best interests of beneficiaries: [138]-[140] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Meaning of 'accrued benefit' in reg 13.16 of the SIS Regulations (xi) The definition of 'accrued benefit' in reg 9.27 of the SIS Regulations does not apply to reg 13.16. The definition in reg 9.27 is expressed only to apply to Div 9.5, which deals with the content of actuaries' reports. In that context, where an actuary must form an opinion as to whether the amount held in the fund is sufficient to meet the value of liabilities in respect of accrued benefits, there is a reason why "accrued benefits" would extend to potential entitlements. That reason does not apply to the expression as used in reg 13.16: [107], [146] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Were the OSF rules deemed to include a provision to the effect of cl A11.3? (xii) (Obiter) The transfer of funds from one fund to another, with the members of the old fund having the rights and benefits conferred by the new fund is not an amalgamation of trusts. The fact that the new fund does not confer equivalent benefits, where there is a provision providing that it does, may give rise to a claim against the trustee, but it does not deem the new fund to contain provisions which it does not in fact have: [155] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). (xiii) (Obiter) The right to future consideration is not a species of property that travels with the fund, but even if it were, the trustee of the new fund must take with notice of that obligation in order for it to pass with the property: [157] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA). Estoppel (xiv) Mr Beck could not rely on an estoppel claim which departed from the way in which it was advanced below and where the submissions relied upon were advanced in support of an alternative claim: [191] (Macfarlan JA); [197]-[199] (Gleeson JA). (xv) (Per Bathurst CJ) The manner in which the estoppel case was conducted in the court below provided a sufficient basis for Mr Beck to argue that CBA was estopped from asserting an entitlement to terminate his employment prior to him attaining the age of 55 years: [176] (Bathurst CJ). (xvi) Where the pleaded representation was neither asked for nor stated, it was not sufficiently clear to ground a promissory estoppel: [178]-[180], [182] (Bathurst CJ); [200] (Gleeson JA). Legione v Hately [1982] HCA 11: 152 CLR 406; Foran v Wight [1989] HCA 51; 168 CLR 385 applied Costs (xvii) Where the legal challenge pertained to a trust deed amendment occurring 20 years ago and there was no evidence of any other members who were affected, it was not appropriate that CBOSC bear any part of Mr Beck's costs: [187] (Bathurst CJ); [189] (Macfarlan); [196] (Gleeson JA).
[2012] VSCA 238
(1991) 25 NSWLR 593
(1980) 18 NSWLR 730
[2005] HCA 53