© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2007] VCAT 1974
Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2007-09-19
Original judgment source is linked above.
Domestic building - Engineer - Professional Indemnity insurance - Exclusion - Non-disclosure - Rule in Jones v Dunkel
Greg Campbell (Struck out from proceeding 21/3/07), Devina Campbell (Struck out from proceeding 21/3/07)
Hamlan Homes Pty Ltd (Struck out from proceeding 21/3/07)
Vero Insurance Ltd (Struck out from proceeding 21/3/07)
Campbell v Hamlan Homes Pty Ltd (Domestic Building) [2007] VCAT 1974
2 Reserve liberty to the First Joined Party to apply for costs.
"Whether the Second Joined Party is obliged to provide indemnity to the First Joined Party under the relevant policies of insurance for the years 2004/2005 and 2005/2006 and any consequential costs orders".
(a) Civil Liability Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy No. 03CON0473413 on or about 21 March 2004, for the period from 21 March 2004 to 21 March 2005 (04/05 Policy); and
(b) Civil Liability Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy No. 03CON0525526 on or about 21 March 2005, for the period from 21 March 2005 to 21 March 2006 (05/06 Policy).
but does not apply where the insurer would have entered into the contract, for the same premium and on the same terms and conditions, even if the insured had not failed to comply with the duty of disclosure or had not made the misrepresentation before the contract was entered into.
(2) If the failure was fraudulent or the misrepresentation was made fraudulently, the insurer may avoid the contract.
(3) If the insurer is not entitled to avoid the contract or, being entitled to avoid the contract (whether under subsection (2) or otherwise) has not done so, the liability of the insurer in respect of a claim is reduced to the amount that would place the insurer in a position in which the insurer would have been if the failure had not occurred or the misrepresentation had not been made.
(a) Whether the Second Joined Party is not liable to indemnify the First Joined Party under the terms of the policy; and
(b) Whether the Second Joined Party is not liable to indemnify the First Joined Party by reason of section 28.
There are other issues in the case (including issues of a subsidiary kind) but these, it seems to me, are the two principal ones - without intending thereby to compress Counsel's submissions to me unduly.
(a) Known Claims (or losses) as at the inception date of this Policy, or
(b) Claims (or losses) arising from a Known Circumstance(s), or
(c) Claims (or losses) directly or indirectly based upon, attributable to, or in consequence of any such Known Circumstance or known Claims (or losses).
(a) an Insured knew before this Policy began; or
(b) a reasonable person in the Insured's professional position would have thought, before this Policy began
might result in someone making an allegation against an Insured in respect of a liability, that might be covered by this Policy.
might result in allegations being made against the First Joined Party and that such allegations in respect of a liability that might be covered by the 04/05 CGU policy or the 05/06 policies.
On or about 13 October 1997, the First Joined Party designed and endorsed plans for a concrete foundation slab and strip footings for the Applications' home to be constructed at Lot 1 Muhlebachs Road Sutherland Creek.
In April 2002, Mr Charles Fallaw, as director of the First Joined Party, was contacted by the First Respondent regarding cracking that had occurred at the Applicants' home.
Mr Fallow inspected damage to the Applicants' property on or about 4 April 2002 at which time he inspected cracked brickwork and control joints and heaving or warping of the slab, the design of which had been endorsed by First Joined Party.
On 15 November 2002, Mr Fallaw again inspected damage to the Applicants's property, noting lifting and warping in the levels of the concrete foundation slab, the design of which was had been endorsed by the First Joined party.
On 11 March 2003, Mr Fallaw prepared a report for the First Respondent which documented warping in the concrete slab foundation of the Applicants' home.
During or about July 2003 Mr Fallaw attended a further inspection of the Applicants' property.
On 28 January 2004, Mr Fallaw and the First Joined Party certified underpinning and root barrier rectification works for the Applicants's property.
On 18 February 2004, Mr Fallaw inspected the Applicants's property and noted cracking continuing in the garage and recommended that the underpinning work be completed and that the garage be demolished and rebuilt using a strip footing.
On 27 February 2004, the First Joined Party sent a letter to the First Respondent stating inter alia that the cracking in the garage of the Applicants' home had increased since the inspection carried out by the First Joined Party in July 2003 and in the opinion of the First Joined Party the garage blockwork and strip footing should be demolished and replaced.
(6) It says further that the claim against the First Joined Party in this proceeding is a claim arising from the Material Known Circumstances or a claim directly or indirectly based upon, attributable to, or in consequence of the material Known Circumstances.
(7) Accordingly, it says that by the operation of clause 6.1 in the 04/05 CGU policy and the 05/06 CGU policy, the First Joined Party is not entitled to indemnity from CGU in this proceeding.
In paragraphs 3.2 and 3.3 he deals with his views about an engineer answering questions posed by an insurer:
3.2 Prior to such insurance being provided by a potential Insurer - for the first time or prior to each renewal of an existing insurance - a consulting engineer is required to complete a questionnaire issued by the Insurer that solicits answers to a series of questions. The full completion of the questionnaire is, in my experience, mandatory. The seeking of the information from the applicant engineer appears to be part of the risk assessment undertaken by the potential insurer. These questions normally include one (or more) that requires the applicant engineer to state whether he/she has been involved in previous insurance claims against him/her or him/her firm. Another question normally asks that any possible claims relating to current or past projects undertaken by the applicant engineer of which he/she is aware shall be divulged.
3.3 In my experience as a consulting civil/structural engineer, I have formed an understanding that, under the terms of the insurance policies to which I have been privy, it is necessary for an applicant consulting engineer to respond to the above question in the affirmative if he/she believes that a project upon which he/she has provided consulting engineering services, has experienced (or is experiencing) defects that are in any way relating to the engineering components of the project for which he/she or his/her firm have responsibility and which are likely to involve remedial work. I nevertheless believe that if the problem was due (say) to a failure of the air conditioning system, then that would not necessitate the consulting structural engineer associated with that project needing to advise his/her Insurer. In the event that recognition of a potential problem is made by a consulting engineer during the term of an existing insurance (normally 12 months), it is my understanding that the Insured engineer is similarly required to advise the Insurer of this occurrence. In so doing, the engineer need not consider himself/herself to be responsible for the reported occurrence - rather such notification enables the Insurer to make financial provision for a potential claim (should it later be successful) or it enables the Insurer to make a commercial decision whether to insurer the engineer in the future and, if so, upon what terms. Another objective of appropriately notifying the Insurer is to obtain expert advice from the Insurer as how best to proceed and how to avoid advertent potential further exposure. If necessary the Insurer might obtain legal assistance and the legal practice then appointed might also be called upon to represent the engineer's interests.
In paragraphs 5.6, 5.7 and 5.8 sets out his opinion as follows:
5.6 I believe that, by using a similar thought process to that described in clauses 5.3 to 5.5 inclusive, Mr Fallaw could have reached the same conclusion - despite not necessarily agreeing that he or his company was responsible for the observed defects. In my opinion, he should then have notified his current Insurer of a potential claim being made against his professional indemnity insurance. I am unaware whether or not such notification was given.
5.7 When Mr Fallaw completed the CGU insurance questionnaire form whilst applying for new insurance on 27th January 2004, he had already issued (on 28 November 2003) his sketches illustrating the required remedial works. For the same reasons as explained in the preceding clauses, I therefore believe he - as a reasonable professional engineer - should have recognised his duty to alert CGU to the possibility that a potential claim by others might be made against Fallaw due to the defects found in the Sutherland Creek property and the resulting cost of their rectification.
5.8 Mr. Fallaw subsequently (on 18th February 2004) again inspected the property and noted increased cracking of the garage. Its extent resulted in him recommending (on 27th February 2004) the demolition and reconstruction of the garage - partially supported upon the isolated concrete underpins. Such work would have involved further expense. Because CGU did not issue Fallaw's insurance policy until 21st March 2004, Fallaw appears to have had further opportunity to notify CGU of the apparently on-going problem at the Sutherlands Creek property.
In his declaration of expertise at the conclusion to his report he says that: "having been a Principal in two consulting engineering practices, I have been required to complete insurance application and renewal forms and to advise of any potential claims that I considered might possibly be made against the companies that I represented. On that basis, I believe I have adequate expertise to provide this report indemnity under clauses 6.1 and 12.14".
(iv) Section 28.
(1) Subject to this act, an insured has a duty to disclose to the insurer, before the relevant contract of insurance is entered into, every matter that that is known to the insured, being a matter that:
(a) the insured knows to be a matter relevant to the decision of the insurer whether to accept the risk and, if so, on what terms: or
(b) a reasonable person in the circumstances could be expected to know to be a matter so relevant.
(2) The duty of disclosure does not require the disclosure of a matter
(a) that diminishes the risk;
(b) that is of common knowledge;
(c) that the insurer knows or in the ordinary course of the insurer's business as an insurer ought to know; or
(d) as to which compliance with the duty of disclosure is waived by the insurer.
(3) Where a person:
- (a) failed to answer; or
- (b) gave an obviously incomplete or irrelevant answer to;
a question included in a proposal form about a matter, the insurer shall be deemed to have waived compliance with the duty of disclosure in relation to the matter.
Campbell
Hamlan Homes Pty Ltd
(1959) 101 CLR 298
(1991) 31 FCR 299