© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2002] NSWSC 104
Supreme Court of NSW
2002-02-27
Palmer J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION : Rebolledo v. Royal & Sun Alliance Financial Services Ltd [2002] NSWSC 104 CURRENT JURISDICTION: Equity Division FILE NUMBER(S) : SC 2151/01 HEARING DATE(S) : 25 to 27 February, 2002 JUDGMENT DATE : 27 February 2002
PARTIES : Juan Rebolledo - Plaintiff Royal & Sun Alliance Financial Services Ltd - Defendant JUDGMENT OF : Palmer J
COUNSEL : M.L. Williams SC with R.S. Sheldon - Plaintiff J.E. Maconachie QC with R. Seton - Defendant SOLICITORS : Carroll & O'Dea - Plaintiff Boyd House & Partners - Defendant CATCHWORDS : PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE - PLEADING - LEAVE TO AMEND - New issue raised on second day of expedited hearing - evidence said to support new issue known to Defendant and legal advisers long before proceedings commenced - Counsel thinks of new point - if amendment granted, lengthy adjournment inevitable and great psychological, emotional and financial distress would be caused to Plaintiff and family - factors in exercising discretion considered - whether distress and hardship to Plaintiff can be alleviated by costs order - where the interests of justice lie. - Attorney General v Lord Mayor of Sheffield (1912) 106 LT 367 CASES CITED : - Banque Commerciale SA (in liq) v Akhil Holdings Ltd (1990) 169 CLR 279 - Ketteman v Hansel Properties Ltd [1987] AC 189 - Queensland v J L Holdings Pty Ltd (1997) 189 CLR 146 DECISION : Leave to amend refused.
1 These are my reasons for refusing, yesterday morning, to accede to the Defendant's application for leave to amend its Amended Defence herein. 2 The Plaintiff, Mr Rebolledo, has been incapacitated by illness since March 1999 and has been unable to work. From March 1999 until 24 August 2000 the Defendant ("the Insurer") paid him monthly benefits under an Income Protection Policy which it had issued in 1994 ("the Policy"). On 24 March 2000 the Insurer ceased paying benefits and purported to avoid the Policy on the ground that Mr Rebolledo had made fraudulent misrepresentations to it about his health and income in order to induce it to enter into the Policy. 3 Mr Rebolledo commenced these proceedings in April 2001, seeking a declaration that he was still entitled to receive benefits under the Policy or, in the alternative, damages for the Insurer's wrongful termination of the Policy. By its Defence, the Insurer did not admit that Mr Rebolledo has been disabled and unable to work since March 1999, but its substantial defence was that it had validly terminated the Policy by reason of Mr Rebolledo's fraudulent misrepresentation. 4 Mr Rebolledo has been placed in severe personal and financial difficulty because of the Insurer's refusal to pay benefits under the Policy since August 2000. He is, as I have said, incapacitated and has no source of income other than from social security benefits. He is married with four children and his wife also has serious medical problems. Not surprising, he and his wife became extremely depressed by the seemingly hopeless position in which they found themselves. 5 On 9 July 2001 Mr Rebolledo's solicitors filed a Notice of Motion seeking that the hearing of the proceedings be expedited. In support of Mr Rebolledo's application for an expedited hearing his solicitors filed an affidavit of Alexandra Darcey sworn 9 July 2001. Ms Darcey is the solicitor with day-to-day conduct of the matter. She gave the following unchallenged evidence as to the position of Mr and Mrs Rebolledo: "6. On 1 November 2000 Mrs Rebolledo said to [Counsel] and myself in words to the effect "Our only income comes from social security benefits. They go nowhere towards meeting our debts which include a mortgage on our home. Juan is currently in Chile trying to sell some property. It is worth about $10,000 Australian. We may be able to hold on to the house for a little bit longer. I receive phone calls every day from creditors in relation to our other debts".
At that meeting on 2 November 2000 I observed Mrs Rebolledo to be crying and in a very anxious and depressed state.
On 18 December I was telephoned by Dr Roberta Chow of 269-271 Old Northern Road Castle Hill. She said to me words to the effect "I am very concerned about Mr and Mrs Rebolledo. I believe that the stress of this court case is leading to an increase in very destructive pain behaviours. I have concerns for the welfare of the four children and for the health of Kerrie and Juan".
On 4 January Mrs Rebolledo telephoned me and said in words to the effect "The situation at home has deteriorated. My eldest son has left to live with my mother because of an argument that got physical with Juan".
On 11 January 2001 Mrs Rebolledo telephoned me and said in words to the effect "I have consulted a domestic violence counsellor. My sister is looking after my two youngest children at the moment as I am very sick".
On 1 May 2001 Mrs Rebolledo telephoned me and said in words to the effect "Juan is currently in Chile and he will be returning on 15 May 2001. I spend most of my time in bed".
On 4 June 2001 I attended on Mr and Mrs Rebolledo. They gave me documentation which I read. I calculated from that documentation that they had combined credit card debits in the sum of $30,750, vehicle hire purchase debts in the sum of $36,000 and debts to telecommunications companies of $14,000. I noted that they had approximately $100,000 worth of equity in their home and still owed approximately $200,000 in mortgage repayments." 6 Ms Darcey annexed a report of Mr and Mrs Rebolledo's treating doctor, Dr Roberta Chow, dated 21 June 2001, the relevant parts of which are as follows: "Mr Rebolledo's mental state continues to deteriorate with depression being a major problem. I have recommenced him on anti-depressant, Cipramil, at his recent visit. I am concerned that his expression of complete hopelessness and a feeling of 'being in tunnel' out of which he doesn't know whether or not he will ever emerge, are signs of serious deterioration with potentially dire consequences. … In my opinion the current situation where Mrs Rebolledo's medical condition has deteriorated to such an extent that she is unable to maintain a minimal level of physical activity to keep the house going, is placing enormous physical and psychological stresses on both of them.
In particular Mr Rebolledo's condition continues to worsen in the situation where he has to try to take on extra tasks which he is not physically able to do.
I believe that for the medical reasons outlined above, with the current state of Mrs Rebolledo's medical condition and the deteriorating medical condition of Mr Rebolledo, the legal matters should be brought forward as a matter of some urgency." 7 Dr Chow provided a report in September 2001 which stated that Mrs Rebolledo had been recently admitted to hospital, had not been able to carry out normal day-to-day activities and expressed suicidal thoughts. Dr Chow advised that if the hearing of these proceedings were not expedited, Mr Rebolledo's medical and psychological condition, which was already causing concern, would deteriorate further. 8 Expedition was granted and the trial commenced on 25 February 2002. 9 Mr Williams SC, who appears with Mr Sheldon for Mr Rebolledo, began his opening, outlining the evidence to be relied upon by Mr Rebolledo in refuting the allegations of fraudulent misrepresentation. He was interrupted by Mr Maconachie QC, who appears with Mr Seton for the Insurer. Mr Maconachie made a number of statements which, he says, were not admissions in any legal sense but were "concessions". The consequences of what Mr Maconachie said are of some importance so that it is necessary to set out the relevant passage in the transcript (T6.55-7.39): " Maconachie : I want to save some time. There are some aspects of the opening I would like to hear but perhaps I will hear them a little more quickly if I tell your Honour that the Defendant withdraws the defence of misrepresentation and nondisclosure and the allegations of fraud that is associated with it and accepts that the policy remains on foot, accepts that the Plaintiff is entitled to a declaration that the policy remains on foot as prayed for, accepts that the Plaintiff is entitled to an award of damages … we accept that the Plaintiff is entitled to a liquidated or equivalent sum calculated on the sums of money falling due from month to month under the policy. The Defendant accepts that there will be an award for interest pursuant to s.57 of the Insurance Contracts Act. … the Defendant accepts that there will be an order for costs, subject to questions of costs relating to the amendment that was allowed … the Defendant denies that the Plaintiff was or is entitled to accept the repudiation as it is put of the 24 August 2000 and relies on the doctrine of election as put forward in the paragraph 5A and following of our defence and accordingly, the Defendant contends that the Plaintiff is not entitled to an award of damages based on a loss of a bargain, a Hadley v Baxendale assessment for acceptance of repudiation.
His Honour: The issue is whether the Plaintiff gets the continuing benefits under the policy or gets damages.
Maconachie: Yes, that's precisely the position that now obtains. We accept that the policy remains on foot." 10 Mr Maconachie's statements were made because it seems to be accepted by the Insurer that non-disclosure of Mr Rebolledo's prior medical history was entirely the fault of the Insurer's own agent, a Mr Taggart, and that the Insurer must accept responsibility for his actions. Mr Williams informed me, and I accept, that he had no prior notice of the statements which were made by Mr Maconachie. 11 Mr Maconachie's "concessions" were tantamount to an admission that the Insurer's allegations of fraud against Mr Rebolledo were groundless and that since March 1999 it had wrongfully deprived him and his family of the benefits to which they were entitled under the Policy. However, no word of apology was uttered in Court on behalf of the Insurer for the accusation of dishonesty which had been levelled against Mr Rebolledo; neither was any regret expressed on behalf of the Insurer for the financial and personal hardships which Mr Rebolledo and his family had had to endure since March 1999 by reason of being denied the benefits to which Mr Rebolledo was entitled. 12 As a result of Mr Maconachie's concessions, the issues as defined in the pleadings which remained to be decided were:
See also Queensland v J L Holdings Pty Ltd (1997) 189 CLR 146, at 155. 33 In my view, a costs order against the Insurer can go no way towards alleviating the distress and hardship which will be caused to Mr Rebolledo and his family if the amendment is allowed and the conclusion of the trial is postponed. 34 Fifth, I take into account Mr Maconachie's submission that the "Sickness issue" is a complete answer to Mr Rebolledo's claim so that justice requires that the amendment be allowed. But this factor is one of many which must be taken into account in deciding where the interests of justice lie. It cannot be just to allow a case in the course of hearing to be adjourned every time Counsel thinks up a new and substantial point. Justice also requires an end to litigation. Accordingly, important as this factor undoubtedly is in the exercise of the Court's discretion, it may be outweighed by other considerations. In the present case, it is outweighed, in my opinion, by the other four factors to which I have referred. 35 For these reasons, I refused the Insurer's application for leave to amend.
JUDGMENT - Ex tempore, on settlement 27 February, 2002
1 For the record I will note that the matter has been resolved between the parties by agreement and that a Notice of Discontinuance is to be filed. In those circumstances, I do no more than stand the proceedings over generally. They will be brought to an end upon the filing of a Notice of Discontinuance. 2 Before leaving the matter, there are two things I must say. Firstly, I wish to congratulate the parties and their legal advisers for being able to reach a compromise in what has obviously been a very difficult and no doubt a very stressful case. It is always a much better solution for the parties to agree upon the resolution of a dispute than to have that dispute resolved by the Courts. The legal system resolves disputes but often in a way that is not as satisfactory as a resolution between the parties. Again, I congratulate the parties and their advisers on achieving this settlement. 3 The second thing that I must say arises out of the reasons for interlocutory judgment which I published this morning. In paragraph 10 of the judgment I referred to concessions which Mr Maconachie had made on the previous day, and I said in relation to those concessions that they were made because it seems to be accepted by the Insurer that non-disclosure of Mr Rebolledo's prior medical history was entirely the fault of the Insurer's own agent, Mr Taggart, and that the Insurer must accept responsibility for those actions. I made that statement because that was the impression that I got by reason of the time at which Mr Maconachie made his concessions, namely, in the course of Mr Williams' explanation in his opening as to why the allegation of fraudulent misrepresentation was denied. 4 I wish it to be recorded that Mr Maconachie himself did not make any admission that the concessions made by him were by way of recognition of any fault attributable either to the Insurer or to Mr Taggart. I accept that I received a wrong impression by reason of the timing of Mr Maconachie's concessions, so that it is important for the sake of Mr Taggart's professional reputation that the record be put straight and that it be made clear that I have certainly not formed a view that there is anything in the circumstances giving rise to this case for which Mr Taggart may be criticised. I would not wish any imputation critical of Mr Taggart to arise from my remarks in view of the fact that the issues to which his evidence may have been relevant have never been explored and, of course, I have not heard from Mr Taggart himself. 5 With those remarks, I think the matter can be disposed of. - oOo -
Last Modified: 03/05/2002 DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
Attorney General
Lord Mayor of Sheffield
(1990) 169 CLR 279
(1997) 189 CLR 146