{"id":"F2023L00413","name":"Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) (Paragraph 15(1)(d)) Determination 2023","slug":"telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023","collection":"legislative_instrument","jurisdiction":"commonwealth","status":"in_force","isInForce":true,"actNumber":null,"makingDate":null,"administeringDepartment":null,"currentVersion":{"id":104095,"registerId":"commonwealth-F2023L00413-current","compilationNumber":null,"startDate":"2026-04-03","status":"InForce","reasons":null,"registeredAt":null},"sections":[{"sectionNumber":"1","sectionType":"section","heading":"Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) (Paragraph 15(1)(d)) Determination 2023","content":"---\nmeta-content-style-type: text/css\nmeta-content-type: application/xhtml+xml; charset=utf-8\nmeta-generator: Aspose.Words for .NET 22.10.0\n---\n\n?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"utf-8\" standalone=\"no\"?>\n\n![Commonwealth Coat of Arms of Australia](image.001.png)\n\nCommonwealth of Australia\n\n \n\nTELECOMMUNICATIONS (CARRIER LICENCE CHARGES) (PARAGRAPH 15(1)(d)) DETERMINATION 2023\n\n \n\nI, MICHELLE ROWLAND, Minister for Communications, under paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997, determine that the estimated total amount of grants likely to be made during the 2022‑2023 financial year under section 593 of the Telecommunications Act 1997 is $2,435,000.\n\n \n\nDated 30 March 2023\n\n \n\nMICHELLE ROWLAND\n\nMinister for Communications\n\n \n\n \n\n \n\n \n","sortOrder":0}],"analysis":{"flash_summary":{"complexity_score":2,"scope_assessment":{"changed":false,"description":"This instrument does not change the legal scope or coverage of the referenced Acts. It records an administrative numeric estimate ($2,435,000) of grants likely to be made under section 593 in 2022–2023, made under paragraph 15(1)(d). The instrument does not amend statutory rights or obligations; it supplies a fiscal estimate for use within the existing statutory framework."},"complexity_factors":["Very short, single-purpose instrument setting one numeric estimate","Relies on cross-references to other statutes (paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997 and section 593 of the Telecommunications Act 1997) for context and legal effect","Understanding full legal and fiscal effect requires consulting the referenced provisions (not contained in the instrument)","Involves ministerial discretion to set an estimate, creating implementation risk through potential estimation error","No procedural detail in the instrument about how the estimate is to be used or adjusted"],"plain_english_summary":"# What this instrument does\n\nThis determination records an official estimate by the Minister for Communications of how much the Commonwealth expects to grant under a particular provision of telecommunications law during the 2022–2023 financial year. Concretely, the Minister determines that the estimated total amount of grants likely to be made in 2022–2023 under section 593 of the Telecommunications Act 1997 is $2,435,000. The determination is made under paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997 and is dated 30 March 2023 (signed by Minister Michelle Rowland).\n\n# Who it affects\n\n- The instrument is directed to the legal framework created by the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997 (paragraph 15(1)(d)) and to grants made under section 593 of the Telecommunications Act 1997. Those statutory references identify the legal context; the text itself records a monetary estimate rather than changing statutory coverage.\n- Practically, the determination will be relevant to officials who administer the carrier licence charges regime and the grants made under section 593, and to anyone who needs the official estimate for budgeting or accounting in that regime.\n- The Commonwealth (the government) is the party that will make the grants described as “likely to be made”; the Minister makes the estimate.\n\n# Why it matters (mechanics and implications)\n\n- Mechanically, the document fixes an official numeric estimate ($2,435,000) for the amount of grants likely to be made under s.593 in 2022–2023 (see paragraph 15(1)(d) and section 593 references in the instrument). The instrument itself does not amend other statutes or set new obligations; it records an estimate.\n- An official estimate can be used in downstream budget, accounting, or charge-calculation processes that rely on statutory determinations (the instrument does not state which specific downstream calculations apply). If a receiving administrative process uses this estimate (not stated in the text), changes in the estimate could alter aggregate charge calculations, budget allocations, or forecasting inputs.\n\n# Costs, incentives, and implementation points\n\n- Who pays: the determination records expected grant payments by the Commonwealth under s.593. The instrument does not create a new tax or fee; it states an expected amount of grants to be made by the government.\n- Who decides: the Minister for Communications exercises the statutory power to make this determination (paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997). The instrument is dated and signed by the Minister (30 March 2023).\n- Compliance burden: the text itself imposes no new compliance obligations on third parties; it is an administrative estimate. Any compliance or cost impacts would arise only via other provisions or administrative rules that use this estimate (those are not set out in the instrument).\n- Discretion and implementation risk: the determination reflects ministerial discretion to set an estimate. The principal risk from the instrument is estimation error—if the estimate is materially different from actual grants made under s.593, that could require corrective accounting or adjustments in downstream processes that rely on the estimate. The instrument does not set error-correction or adjustment mechanisms.\n- Trade-offs and opportunity costs: the document commits only an estimate; it does not reallocate resources or change statutory entitlements. The administrative cost of preparing and publishing the estimate is implicit; substantive budgetary trade-offs (if any) depend on how the estimate is used by other statutory or administrative mechanisms (not stated here).\n\n# Source references\n\n- Determination made under paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997.  \n- The estimate applies to grants likely to be made under section 593 of the Telecommunications Act 1997.  \n- Dated 30 March 2023; signed by Minister Michelle Rowland."},"kimi_summary":{"content_quality":"ok","complexity_score":1,"scope_assessment":{"changed":false,"description":"This instrument performs exactly the narrow, specific function it was designed for: setting the estimated grants figure for a single financial year. It has not expanded beyond the original purpose of the parent Act's delegation."},"complexity_factors":["Single operative provision containing one monetary figure","No defined terms within the instrument itself","No conditional logic or exceptions","No internal cross-references","Extremely short (under 200 words total)","Straightforward delegation under parent Act (paragraph 15(1)(d) of the Telecommunications (Carrier Licence Charges) Act 1997)"],"plain_english_summary":"This is a very short legal instrument made by the Minister for Communications. It sets a specific dollar figure ($2,435,000) that is used to calculate annual licence fees for telecommunications carriers (companies like Telstra, Optus, TPG that own phone and internet networks).\n\n**Why this matters:**\n- Under Australian law, carriers must pay annual licence fees to the government\n- Part of the fee calculation involves subtracting certain government grants from the total\n- This Determination tells everyone exactly how much in grants the government expects to pay out during the 2022-2023 financial year\n- This figure gets plugged into a formula so carriers know what they'll owe\n\n**Who it affects:**\n- Telecommunications carriers who hold carrier licences\n- The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), which collects the fees\n- Ultimately, this affects how much carriers pay to maintain their licences to operate networks\n\n**The bottom line:** This is a routine administrative update — essentially the Minister saying \"we expect to pay out about $2.4 million in grants this year, so use that number when working out licence fees.\""}},"importantCases":[],"_links":{"self":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023","history":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023/history","analysis":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023/analysis","conflicts":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023/conflicts","importantCases":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023/important-cases","documents":"/api/acts/telecommunications-carrier-licence-charges-paragraph-15-1-d-determination-2023/documents"}}