{"id":"BILL-WA-C6A9A41FBD41F43248258DEE002BAAC5","name":"Appropriation (Capital 2026–27) Bill 2026","slug":"appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026","collection":"bill","jurisdiction":"wa","status":"in_force","isInForce":true,"actNumber":null,"makingDate":"2026-05-07","administeringDepartment":null,"currentVersion":{"id":446151,"registerId":"BILL-WA-C6A9A41FBD41F43248258DEE002BAAC5:current","compilationNumber":null,"startDate":"2026-05-07","status":"in_force","reasons":null,"registeredAt":"2026-05-08T16:47:25.122Z"},"sections":[{"sectionNumber":"retrieval-0001","sectionType":"document_chunk","heading":"Document excerpt 1","content":"# Appropriation (Capital 2026–27) Bill 2026\n\n68—1 page i\nWestern Australia\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nContents\n1. Short title 2\n2. Commencement 2\n3. Issue and application of moneys 2\n4. Appropriation for capital purposes 2\nSchedule 1 — Consolidated Account\nfor the year ending 30 June 2027\n\npage 1\nWestern Australia\nLEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nA Bill for\nAn Act to grant supply and to appropriate and apply out of the\nConsolidated Account certain sums for the capital purposes of the\nyear ending 30 June 2027.\nThe Parliament of Western Australia enacts as follows:\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\ns. 1\npage 2\n1. Short title1\nThis is the Appropriation (Capital 2026-27) Act 2026.2\n2. Commencement3\nThis Act comes into operation as follows —4\n(a) sections 1 and 2 — on the day on which this Act5\nreceives the Royal Assent;6\n(b) the rest of the Act — on the day after that day.7\n3. Issue and application of moneys8\n(1) The sum of $10 045 138 000 is to be issued and may be applied9\nout of the Consolidated Account as supply granted for the year10\nbeginning on 1 July 2026 and ending on 30 June 2027.11\n(2) The sum referred to in subsection (1) is additional to supply12\ngranted by the Appropriation (Recurrent 2026-27) Act 2026.13\n4. Appropriation for capital purposes14\nThe sum of $10 045 138 000 granted by section 3 as supply is15\nappropriated from the Consolidated Account for the capital16\npurposes expressed in Schedule 1 and detailed in the Agency17\nInformation in Support of the Estimates for the year.18\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nConsolidated Account for the year ending 30 June 2027 Schedule 1\npage 3\nSchedule 1 — Consolidated Account for the year ending1\n30 June 20272\n[s. 4]3\nItem $\nPARLIAMENT\n102 Legislative Council .................................................. 18 000\n103 Legislative Assembly .............................................. 32 000\n104 Parliamentary Services ............................................ 3 418 000\n105 Parliamentary Commissioner for Administrative\nInvestigations ........................................................... 22 000\nGOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION\n106 Premier and Cabinet ................................................ 5 616 000\n107 Public Sector Commission ....................................... 9 118 000\n108 Governor’s Establishment ....................................... 46 000\n109 Western Australian Electoral Commission .............. 18 000\n110 Salaries and Allowances Tribunal ........................... 3 000\n111 Office of the Information Commissioner ................ 11 000\n112 Registrar, Western Australian Industrial Relations\nCommission ............................................................. 50 000\nFINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION\n113 Treasury and Finance ............................................... 653 000\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nSchedule 1 Consolidated Account for the year ending 30 June 2027\npage 4\nItem $\nTreasury and Finance Administered\n114 Bunbury Water Corporation ................................. 7 499 000\n115 Busselton Water Corporation ............................... 2 715 000\n116 Department of Biodiversity, Conservation\nand Attractions ..................................................... 3 616 000\n117 Department of Education ..................................... 56 771 000\n118 Department of Primary Industries and Regional\nDevelopment ........................................................ 65 106 000\n119 Department of Transport and\nMajor Infrastructure ............................................. 12 000 000\n120 Electricity Generation and Retail Corporation\n(Synergy) .............................................................. 142 131 000\n121 Electricity Networks Corporation\n(Western Power) ................................................... 328 445 000\n122 Fremantle Port Authority ..................................... 13 684 000\n123 Kimberley Ports Authority ................................... 3 495 000\n124 Mid West Ports Authority .................................... 1 181 000\n125 Pilbara Ports Authority ......................................... 313 470 000\n126 Provision for Shared Equity Home Ownership\nSubsidy Scheme ................................................... 41 000 000\n127 Regional Power Corporation (Horizon Power) .... 20 541 000\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nConsolidated Account for the year ending 30 June 2027 Schedule 1\npage 5\nItem $\n128 Royalties for Regions ........................................... 230 054 000\n129 WA Health ............................................................ 301 799 000\n130 Water Corporation ................................................ 38 278 000\n131 Western Australian Land Authority\n(DevelopmentWA) ............................................... 20 000 000\n132 Building Hospitals Fund ....................................... 1 445 830 000\n133 Digital Capability Fund ........................................ 301 064 000\n134 Major Projects Fund ............................................. 125 000 000\n135 Remote Communities Fund .................................. 126 685 000\n136 Social and Affordable Housing\nInvestment Fund ................................................... 1 170 931 000\n137 Strategic Industries Fund ...................................... 25 000 000\n138 Office of the Auditor General .................................. 300 000\nJOBS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT\n139 Energy and Economic Diversification ..................... 86 246 000\n140 Creative Industries, Tourism and Sport ................... 196 937 000\n141 Creative Industries, Tourism and Sport —\nArt Gallery of Western Australia ............................. 218 000\n142 Primary Industries and Regional Development ....... 18 361 000\n143 Mines, Petroleum and Exploration .......................... 1 977 000\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nSchedule 1 Consolidated Account for the year ending 30 June 2027\npage 6\nItem $\nHEALTH\n144 WA Health ............................................................... 586 602 000\n145 Mental Health Commission ..................................... 5 045 000\n146 Health and Disability Services Complaints\nOffice ....................................................................... 4 000\nEDUCATION AND TRAINING\n147 Education ................................................................. 701 352 000\n148 Training and Workforce Development .................... 18 319 000\nCOMMUNITY SAFETY\n149 Western Australia Police ......................................... 149 917 000\n150 Justice ...................................................................... 311 673 000\n151 State Solicitor’s Office ............................................ 153 000\n152 Fire and Emergency Services .................................. 15 464 000\n153 Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions .......... 760 000\n154 Corruption and Crime Commission ......................... 246 000\n155 Chemistry Centre (WA) ........................................... 2 500 000\nCOMMUNITY SERVICES\n156 Communities ............................................................ 27 207 000\n157 Local Government, Industry Regulation\nand Safety ................................................................ 1 098 000\n158 Western Australian Sports Centre Trust .................. 32 714 000\n\nAppropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026\nConsolidated Account for the year ending 30 June 2027 Schedule 1\npage 7\nItem $\nTRANSPORT AND MAJOR INFRASTRUCTURE\n159 Transport and Major Infrastructure ......................... 228 612 000\n160 Commissioner of Main Roads ................................. 734 368 000\n161 Public Transport Authority of\nWestern Australia .................................................... 1 560 916 000\n162 Housing and Works ................................................. 339 664 000\nENVIRONMENT\n163 Water and Environmental Regulation ..................... 9 327 000\n164 Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions ............. 183 605 000\nPLANNING AND LAND USE\n165 Planning, Lands and Heritage .................................. 3 924 000\n166 Western Australian Planning Commission .............. 5 400 000\n167 Western Australian Land Information Authority .... 6 494 000\n168 National Trust of Australia (WA) ............................ 435 000\nGRAND TOTAL ..................................................... 10 045 138 000","sortOrder":0}],"analysis":{"flash_summary":{"complexity_score":2,"scope_assessment":{"changed":false,"description":"This Bill performs the conventional function of a capital appropriation Act: it authorises a specified capital supply for a single financial year and allocates that supply across named agencies and funds in Schedule 1. It does not expand the statutory remit of departments, create new programs in the text of the Act, or materially change the scope beyond appropriating capital in line with the Budget; therefore it remains within the usual scope of an annual capital appropriation."},"complexity_factors":["Very short Act: 4 substantive sections (short title, commencement, issue/application of moneys, appropriation) plus Schedule 1","Single monetary appropriation figure ($10,045,138,000) specified in section 3(1)","Schedule 1 contains 67 numbered line items (Items 102–168) listing recipients and headline capital amounts","Cross‑reference to an external document for detail: 'Agency Information in Support of the Estimates' (section 4)","Simple commencement rules (section 2) and an additionality clause referencing the separate Appropriation (Recurrent 2026–27) Act (section 3(2))","No defined terms section, no nested exceptions or conditional rules within the Act itself"],"plain_english_summary":"**What this Bill does (mechanics)\n\n- Grants a single capital supply of $10,045,138,000 to be drawn from the Consolidated Account for the financial year beginning 1 July 2026 and ending 30 June 2027 (section 3(1)).\n- States this capital supply is additional to the recurrent (day‑to‑day) appropriation provided by the Appropriation (Recurrent 2026–27) Act 2026 (section 3(2)).\n- Appropriates that entire sum to capital purposes as listed in Schedule 1, and ties the high‑level allocations to the further details set out in the agencies' supporting estimates documents (section 4).\n- Sets simple commencement timing: the short title and commencement clause come into force on Royal Assent day; the rest of the Act commences the next day (section 2).\n\nWho is affected and who pays\n\n- Who pays: the funds are to be issued and applied out of the Consolidated Account (sections 3 and 4). In practical terms, the money comes from the State’s general funds (tax and other receipts held in the Consolidated Account).\n- Who receives the money: government agencies, statutory corporations and named funds listed in Schedule 1. The Schedule lists 67 line items (Items 102–168) including agencies and special-purpose funds. Major recipients include the Public Transport Authority, Building Hospitals Fund, Social and Affordable Housing Investment Fund, Electricity Networks Corporation (Western Power), Pilbara Ports Authority and WA Health (see Schedule 1 for line items and amounts).\n- Who decides how the money is used: Parliament authorises the appropriation (by passing the Act). Operational allocation and project‑level decisions are exercised by the relevant agencies/funds in accordance with the Budget papers and the Agency Information in Support of the Estimates (section 4).\n\nWhy it matters (policy intent stated and practical implications)\n\n- The Bill’s stated purpose is to provide authority to spend capital investments for the 2026–27 year (front‑end mechanical function of an appropriation Act: sections 3–4). The Schedule sets the headline amounts for capital programs and statutory corporations.\n- Practical implication: once enacted, the listed agencies have legal authority to draw the appropriated capital amounts from the Consolidated Account up to the totals shown in Schedule 1. The Bill itself does not specify project‑level detail; that is provided in the Agency Information in Support of the Estimates (section 4).\n\nCosts, incentives, trade‑offs and implementation risks\n\n- Cost and opportunity cost: $10.045 billion of public funds are directed to capital investment for 2026–27, which reduces the pool of the Consolidated Account available for other uses in that year (sections 3–4). The appropriation is explicit and finite.\n- Concentrated benefits: several large, named recipients receive substantial, concentrated allocations (examples from Schedule 1: Public Transport Authority $1,560,916,000; Building Hospitals Fund $1,445,830,000; Social and Affordable Housing Investment Fund $1,170,931,000; Western Power $328,445,000; Pilbara Ports Authority $313,470,000). Those concentrated allocations create identifiable financial beneficiaries and therefore predictable incentives for those entities and their stakeholders.\n- Information and accountability: the Bill delegates project and program detail to the Agency Information in Support of the Estimates (section 4). That external document will contain the operational breakdown and is the primary accountability instrument for how the funds are to be spent; the Act itself records only the headline totals in Schedule 1.\n- Implementation risk and capacity: the Act authorises expenditure but does not itself manage delivery — execution risk depends on agency capacity, procurement, contracting, and timing within the fiscal year; Schedule 1 does not alter those implementation mechanics.\n- Compliance and administrative burden: the Bill is procedurally straightforward; it does not create new regulatory regimes or reporting requirements within the Act itself. Administrative demands are those already embedded in agencies’ budgetary and financial management frameworks.\n- Potential crowding/substitution: the Act channels public capital into particular sectors and projects. Whether that crowds out or complements private investment depends on the projects funded (not specified in the Act; see Agency Information).\n- Risk of lobbying dynamics: because the Schedule identifies large, specific allocations, beneficiaries are clearly identified; that pattern can create concentrated lobbying incentives, but the Bill itself simply records allocations rather than creating the lobbying incentives.\n\nKey textual points to note\n\n- Single appropriation figure: section 3(1) fixes the total amount to be issued ($10,045,138,000).\n- Additionality: section 3(2) clarifies that this is in addition to the recurrent appropriation for the same year.\n- Schedule is the legal list of recipients and headline amounts: section 4 appropriates the supply for the capital purposes expressed in Schedule 1 and cross‑refers to the Agency Information in Support of the Estimates for details.\n\nBottom line in plain terms\n\nThis is a standard, single‑year capital appropriation Act. It authorises the State to spend a specific lump sum from the Consolidated Account on capital programs and named recipients for 2026–27, sets the commencement dates, and relies on the Budget/Agency Information documents for program detail and accountability (sections 2–4 and Schedule 1). It allocates substantial, concentrated sums to a small number of large programs and statutory corporations, and the operational delivery and reporting follow the usual budgetary frameworks rather than being set out in the Act itself."},"summary":{"status_summary":"The Appropriation (Capital 2026-27) Bill 2026 is at the second reading stage in the Western Australian Legislative Assembly.","complexity_score":2,"likely_questions":["What specific capital projects are funded by this Bill?","How does this capital appropriation relate to the recurrent appropriation Bill?","Where do the funds in the Consolidated Account come from?","Will any of this funding be spent on private sector contracts, and if so, how are they awarded?","What is the total state budget for 2026-27 including both recurrent and capital appropriations?"],"complexity_factors":["Standard annual appropriation bill with no new policy or legislative change","Single purpose: authorise capital expenditure for one financial year","Schedule provides lump-sum allocations by agency but no project-level detail","Short bill with four operative sections and one schedule"],"plain_english_summary":"The Bill authorises $10,045,138,000 from the Consolidated Account for capital purposes in 2026–27, allocating major sums to health (Building Hospitals Fund), social and affordable housing, public transport and other agencies. It affects Western Australian taxpayers (who fund it), government agencies receiving capital allocations, and contractors who may deliver projects. It grants broad executive spending discretion but provides no project-level detail; it is a routine capital supply measure pending parliamentary approval."}},"importantCases":[],"_links":{"self":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026","history":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026/history","analysis":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026/analysis","conflicts":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026/conflicts","importantCases":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026/important-cases","documents":"/api/acts/appropriation-capital-2026-27-bill-2026/documents"}}